The conference aims at stimulating and advancing leading-edge research
in the field of Management Engineering by gathering together PhD Students who work in this field. The 2015 edition focuses on the role and contribution of Management Engineering research for nurturing firms’ competitiveness and social welfare. Senior scholars, leading practitioners and Editors of top-tier Academic Journals will discuss the research work presented by PhD students (research proposal, preliminary or final results) and provide them constructive feedbacks to further develop, disseminate, and promote their research.


The conference is open to PhD Students and their Supervisors. PhD Students will have the opportunity to present research proposals or (working) research papers. We also invite PhD Students in their final year to apply for a special session where they can present a comprehensive essay in a defense-like fashion. Overall, a limited number of works will be accepted for presentation in parallel sessions to assure a high quality debate; at least one senior scholar will discuss all of the presentations.

The abstracts of all the papers (including the research proposals) presented at the conference will be published in an electronic Proceedings Book. Editors of top-tier academic Journals will join the conference – acting as discussants – to help authors of the best papers in developing their manuscripts for further submission. In 2015, the conference will host Srinivas Talluri (Department Editor of IEEE Transactions on Engineering Management and Senior Editor of Decision Sciences Journal), Tobias Kretschmer (Associate Editor of Strategic Management Journal), Terrence Brown (Editor in Chief of International Journal of Entrepreneurial Venturing), Cipriano Forza (Associate Editor of Decision Sciences Journal and of Journal of Operations Management), and Stefan Haefliger (Associate Editor of Long Range Planning).


Key dates

8 March: Submission of Extended Abstracts of Research Proposals, Papers and Comprehensive Essays for the defence-like special session (maximum 1,500 words)

27 March: Notification of Acceptance / Admission to the defence-like special session

30 April: Registration Opening (Free for EDIM and DRIG PhD Students; otherwise, Flat Fee: 150 EUR)

3 May midday CET: Submission of Research Proposals or Papers (maximum 8,000 words) / Comprehensive Essays (maximum 16,000 words)

29 May: Registration deadline

10-12 June: Conference
List of topics related to the scope of the Conference (but not limited to)

- Business development
- Corporate finance
- Entrepreneurship
- Firms’ business models and firms’ organizational design
- Globalization and its impact
- Human-centred design and management of engineering systems
- Human resource management and leadership
- Industrial and science policy
- Industrial change processes
- Industrial marketing
- Innovation management
- Operations strategy and management
- Production and service systems design
- Project management
- Risk management
- Service operations management
- Supply chain management and logistics
- Sustainability management
- Systems of innovations
- Technological change and development

Best paper award

To stimulate the submission of high quality papers a Best Paper Award will be conferred to the author of a research paper presented at the conference. The winning paper will be selected based on Discussants and Editors evaluations. Only papers submitted before the deadline will be evaluated. The award will be announced and bestowed at the conference closing session.

Conference Co-Chairs

Paolo Trucco, Politecnico di Milano – Director of the Doctoral Programme in Management, Economics and Industrial Engineering
Mats Engwall, KTH Royal Institute of Technology – EDIM Coordinator

Scientific Programme Co-Chairs

Federico Frattini, Politecnico di Milano
Guido J.L. Micheli, Politecnico di Milano
Cristina Rossi-Lamastra, Politecnico di Milano

Scientific Committee

EDIM Faculty (Scientific Committee and Supervisors)
DRIG Faculty
Journal Editors

Organizing Committee
Massimiliano Guerini
Martina Sani
Francesca Panzeri
Laura Grassi
Sudipa Sarker
Hakan Karaosman